What’s For Supper? Easy Peasy Chicken and Dumplings

20150304_165206

Hello Dearest Friends,

As I mentioned earlier today I am having some tummy issues. Or did I mention this here? Ok…well I had planned beef fajitas. After a really tough day tummy wise…we are going easy peasy cooking and easy peasy on the tummy Chicken and Dumplings.

So you can try this when you are in a pinch on time or needing a little comfort food, here’s my recipe.

1 lb of chicken boneles/skinless breast or thighs

3 cups of chopped carrots

2 large onions chopped

2 cups of cut corn

2 cups of green peas or green beans

3 cups Heart Healthy Cream of Chicken or Cream of Mushroom soup (your choice)

1 roll of reduced fat crescent rolls or biscuits

a handful of chopped parsley or even cilantro to top each bowl for color (and good for you too!! πŸ˜‰ Β )

garlic or sea salt and pepper to taste

Boil your chicken, carrots, onions, green veggies and spices in water (just enough water to cover your chicken by an inch). (SAVE THE BROTH!!! Homemade chicken broth!!;) My family with food allergies has chicken and veggie soup on these nights….using this broth. Soooo yummy by itself!! πŸ˜‰ )

Once the chicken is completely cooked…but do not overcook!! Once cooked cut up chicken. Strain off veggies. Put chicken, cooked veggies, cut corn and 1 cup of chicken broth in a stock pot or good size dutch oven. Add your cream soups and stir gently till all is good and hot. Once hot add your biscuits or quicky rolls (cut into bite size pieces) to the hot soup and cover. Wait a few minutes until all pop up on top of the soup and are cooked through. Voila…supper is ready!! I usually serve this with a salad of simple baby spinach and grape tomatoes or green onions to munch on like a carrot. (My Daddy’s thing growing up. πŸ˜‰ And truth be told of all I cook for him…this is his favorite!!)

This is really easy peasy and soooooo easy peasy on those with silly tummies meal. This recipe is honestly adjustable to what you and your family like!! I think I remember watching my Grannie make something similar when I was little and I just improvised with what I had on hand or knew my family would like. πŸ™‚

OK….here’s whats for supper at our house. What are you making for dinner tonight?

Have a wonderful evening in the Lord,

k

PS…stay Β warm…more cold is coming! As I write, the wind is whipping off the pastures and rattling the windows. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

