My Life Is Not My Own…

Hello Dear Friends,

So sorry to have been gone for so long. I began writing this posting almost two months ago. I have been busy helping our children, my husband and family. We also have the typical Summer push on the property of busy activities as well as work. So my sincere apologies for taking so long to write. I continue to pray for each of you and look forward to catching up on each of your blogs. Please know I am not complaining in this posting…just sharing some very real struggles in very real times and some wonderful lessons hopefully learned or learning. And the grace and mercy Jesus Christ shows me each hour of the day in each difficult issue that comes my way. What a mighty and amazing God we serve!! May I be pleasing to the Lord and learn through each step of this journey to trust and serve Him completely with a content and joyful heart.

I pray you are encouraged by what I wrote a while back…the Lord is pricking my heart to pull it out of the moth balls and share. Thank you for all of you who pray and encourage…I am truly humbled by such kindness and encouragement.

Praying for you all.

Serving Jesus,

k

Moms' Night Out

Do you ever feel overwhelmed or your life is out of control?

In the chaos of my life right now I have again been reminded this statement….”my life is not my own”.  At first it would seem to be a profoundly Christian statement of my life is the Lord’s to do with…His will be done. Or it could be seen as the worn out Mommy who is knee deep in bottles, toys and diapers…my life is my family’s. Or even the hard working person in a sea of paperwork and work related demands…my life is all about my job. In the latter two statements, they reflect that out of control chaos that life in this world can bring us.

I went to see the Mom’s Night Out movie this last week with my husband. At first glance of the trailer I was sent almost a month ago…I was all in!! I couldn’t wait to get to this movie. We hardly go to movies much these days as the prices are so high. My Sweet Husband and I took some time away on a short trip to the city and that was our splurge. 🙂

The movie at first was a bit slow. I could tell my husband was already kinda squirming a little. But after a short while it became a very interesting and fun movie. It was a bit more action-y than other Christian movies we had seen…so yes, we are a bit more living in a bubble than I like to admit 🙂 . The message was great!! As a mom with almost grown children and one who stayed home with her children letting go of what would have been seen as a very successful career path…it all seemed to resonate. (Back then it wasn’t so hip to stay home. People then treated you as if you didn’t have any skills. I was even pitied you by my husband’s women work mates throwing me birthday luncheons with people I hardly knew. Yes…very, very sweet but honestly so awkward. So in my days of coming home…it wasn’t looked upon well and it was honestly quite lonely.  Something I am so thankful to the Lord for correcting these days for young moms!! ) I could see in this movie the original intent wasn’t mine to draw from. So why did the Lord prick my heart so to go?

For those who are so kind to continue to follow this blog…you all know I have been in and out with family emergencies since this February. I look after my parents who live 45 minutes away. I am the closest child and oldest child so it is my privilege to help and serve with my husband and children. Though honestly I am human and sometimes I can get distracted in the reality of it all.  It can be a daunting task to care for one of your aging parents…but when two begin to have serious issues it is on some days overwhelming. So as I was at this movie…I began to see that it wasn’t always about caring for babies it was about continuing to work on the day to day, dodging the typical unexpected snowballs and being content in this life the Lord gives us. And most importantly, reaching out when help is needed with a joyful servant’s heart.

These days people are so busy and mean well…but I became quickly aware even in my close Christian circles…people may ask but do not “really” want to know what is happening. You know…”T M I”…I am learning to be more sensitive to those I share with and not so literal :)…good lessons learned. And like the young woman in this movie…you try to hold all together until you realize…my life is not my own. I cannot predict or control all that is happening in my life…much less those I am helping or caring for on a regular basis. My life is the Lord’s for His service and His pleasure. He has called me to various opportunities over the years. And when we truly serve…not control or manipulate to meet needs whether in our family day to day or even in our called ministries we honestly can see it is all His. Paul is quite clear in his writings that he lived moment by moment with his eyes ever fixed on Christ and Christ alone. Even in the chaos God has a plan. And when He uses us for His purpose…we can even share our failures as His blessings in these moments. Yes…it is ok to not be perfect. If we were perfect, we would have no need of our Savior Jesus Christ. 🙂 And with the lessons He is teaching me…there maybe someone who would benefit of my experiences. It is all His.

So here goes…some things the Lord continues to patiently teach me.

These days I keep asking myself…will I be able to do this that Paul exampled? Can I follow the Lord never looking down and keeping my eyes fixed on Him…just like Paul? Well we all seem to have glimpses of the Lord and His plan as seen in Paul’s example in the chaos. The more we work at keeping our eyes fixed on Him in all areas of our lives…the more we see Him and His will. (Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. Col. 3:2) And yes I have a long road of consistent living ahead of me. I can honestly tell you that the Lord is teaching me very patiently in my not so perfect life and my not so perfect walk…He never leaves me or forsakes me as is promised in Hebrews 13:5 and it is all His in Proverbs 3:5-6.

God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you. Hebrews 13:5

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

So Dear Friends my words of encouragement when life gives you chaotic and sometimes difficult “lemons”…keep making lemonade in the knowledge that the Lord NEVER leaves you or forsakes you and He does have a plan and will guide you.

Keep serving Him well…He loves you so…

k

Leave a Reply

