Frugal Friday’s: Homemade Vanilla and Chocolate Chip Chia Seed Pudding

Hello Dear Friends,

Today in our area we are locked in with Winter weather. So we are using today to work together and get caught up or in my case also try something on the long “gotta try list”. 🙂

Last week I splurged and tried a chia seed pudding at Whole Foods. It was wonderful!! And at my nutrition class I was able to purchase some lovely chia seeds for a fantastic price!! Sooooo, hmmmm, yes I use these nutrition power house seeds in my smoothies almost daily, but I think I can try to make the chia pudding!! 🙂

And I did!! It was so easy peasy!!! You have got to give this one a little try!! I will show you my not so glamorous picture and then show you the Whole Foods recipe below.

 Oh…and not one yuck in the house!!! I was so thankful!! They all LOVED it and wanted more!! Seriously…WOW!!!

Ok dear friends the consistancy is a little different but if you are casein free it is heaven!! And our son was ready for seconds…immediately!!

So again, I encourage you to try this. Make it in a smaller amount if you are concerned and don’t want to waste. Or run by your local WF and pick up a little pre-made cup. (See last week’s Week In Review Blessings previous post.)

I will also add my “tweaks” after their recipe. 🙂

~~~~~~~

CHIA PUDDING

Serves 6

Chia seeds soaked overnight turn into a simple pudding, similar in consistency to tapioca.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup chia seeds
  • 2 cups unsweetened soymilk, almondmilk or ricemilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons currants or chopped dried figs or dates
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened coconut flakes

Put chia seeds, almond milk and vanilla in a 1-quart glass jar with a lid. Tighten the lid and shake well to thoroughly combine. Or, stir together seeds, almond milk and vanilla in a bowl. Refrigerate overnight. When ready to serve, stir well. Spoon into bowls and top with fruit and coconut.

Nutritional Info:

PER SERVING:280 calories (70 from fat), 7g total fat, 1.5g saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 200mg sodium, 49g carbohydrate (7g dietary fiber, 7g sugar), 3g protein

Special Diets:

Recipe Credit: wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/chia-pudding

~~~~~~~

Displaying 20140124_120246.jpg

My yummy bowl of our yumminess!!

Some of my tweakings to our family’s tastes:

unsweetened vanilla coconut milk, grade b maple syrup (four our children) and cacao nibs for the topping.

In the future I will also top with hemp seeds, chopped sprouted nuts and seeds-raw almonds, raw cashews, raw sunflower sees, raw pumpkin seeds and fresh fruit.

I mixed all together in a glass bowl, covered and placed in the fridge for a couple of hours.

I did blend it this time as I had read this in another recipe from Blend Happy.

Honestly I don’t like the “blended” version and will strictly go with the stir and go method!!

Oh…lest I forget, this way is sooooo much less expensive!!

Win, win!! 🙂

YUM!!! 🙂

Enjoy Dear Friends,

k

Leave a Reply

