Frugal Fridays….

Hello Dear Friends,

My weeks are getting a little busy and I am a bit behind. Please forgive my lateness on this post. ๐Ÿ™‚
I wanted to talk about the inexpensive smoothie and organic options.

Now, I still eat food!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ If you knew or saw me you would know that! HA! ๐Ÿ™‚

My goal is to work up to two smoothies a day for breakfast and lunch/snack. It would look like about 1, hopefully 2 quarts of fresh fruit/fresh veggie smoothies a day.ย I know may sound like allot. But it really isn’t. Oh, in place of the “water” in the recipe previously posted, I do use coconut water. I LOVE coconut water as I have shared before on this blog.

So…how costly is this?

Well, I find it is cheaper than the SAD (Standard American Diet). It is amazing how much we spend on food!! I have a family that loves…good food!! ย So up until now…we have had crazy high grocery bills in my opinion. And if you are having smoothies for meals…it is literally pennies instead of dollars. And that includes the good plant based protein powders, cold pressed organic flax seed oil, essential oils and nuts/seeds I add to my smoothies.

Seriously!!

In my ongoing efforts to find the best prices, I began to consider other bulk items I keep stocked. Even yesterday I called our local health food store to see if I could buy large bulk dried beans, peas, etc. at a discount. They have ordered by the case stock items like gf pasta, sauces, bottled coconut water, etc for me for years. But this time I wanted to buy bulk items like loose dried beans, black eyed peas, etc. We eat allot of beans and peas. These are a wonderfully healthy resource for protein and fiber. And super frugal options.

I have always wanted organic and have always felt this was cost prohibitive. I use to buy from a dear friend in a large city nearby. She not only ran a large once a year buying coop but also had a store. She passed away a couple of years ago and the family just closed down the store in the last 6 months. Not only was this heartbreaking in the finality of the loss of this dear friend, but also how much I relied on her for my family’s food buying supplies for almost 20 years.ย So I began to pray and the Lord brought to mind…let me call the local health food store first before I go to a major healthy grocery store chain in the city.

My Sweet Husband and I like to keep as much local as possible in our purchasing. We LOVE to support the local businesses in our small town as at one time we were one of them. ๐Ÿ™‚ When calling the health food store yesterday I was so excited at how extremely successful it was!! The store is owned and run by 3 siblings and I am always encouraged through good conversation and great tips with each visit!! When chatting by phone yesterday, one of the brothers was quick to say…yes, we would be glad to do this for you. We do this for others so no problem. And if we don’t have it with our 2 main distributors he would go online and research to find it.

Seriously!! Talk about great service!!!

Now…I don’t have to drive to the city, pray it’s in stock or wait for the once a year buy to purchase my larger items!! WOW!! God is so good!!!

Another wonderful part of our discussion was bulk organic prices compared to the conventional prices. I literally spent about 10-15 cents more per pound. OK…another no brainer healthy option!! PTL!!!! I was so excited when I came home to tell our son what I discovered. He’s our numbers guy and ย he was thrilled!!

Our local store also stocks all my fresh organic fruit and veggies that are mostly grown locally!! Ok, that is one stop shopping!! Woo Hoo!!! And when I have purchased at times…if they feel the veggie and fruit aren’t at it’s best quality, they have not charged me. Seriously…free food!! OK, I never even saw that one coming!!ย I did realize over time their prices on organic fruit and vegetables are competitive with our local grocers in this area as well!! PTL!!!

So now you ask…how does this apply to you?

My encouragement in working to eat a more healthy money saving or more frugal lifestyle…is just ask!!ย What’s the worst they will say…no?

Our local health food store does not display this offering. Over time of getting to know them, it somehow just came up in conversation…or maybe I just asked. Who knows. But they are better than even the Amazon “monthly” shipping ordering system on stock items and that includes free shipping compared to gas spent in driving.

Again Dear Friends…just ask, you never know what blessings may be there for you to receive. And you will help support your local stores!!ย 

I pray this encourages you to consider wonderful organic, non gmo, healthy options in eating. Smoothies are an amazing option in your healthy lifestyle and are very cost effective!! And if possible…keeping it local not only helps you and your town in the end…it might just help your pocket book!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a wonderful weekend in the Lord and I am praying for each of you Dear Friends!!

Keep serving Him well,

k

Picture credit: Pictures.com

2 thoughts on “Frugal Fridays….

  1. sf says:

    Yep, frugal is the way to go! Even in regards to clothes and shoes, I feel more fabulous about thrift store finds than I do over brand new department store sales! Great post!

    • k at Healthy Living 4 Him says:

      I LOVE thrift stores!! There is one in a small town nearby. It is a rather wealthy town and their thrift store is literally the least expensive I have ever seen and many times you can find name brand clothes with the store tags still on them!! Woo Hoo!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      My adult children LOVE to go to thrift stores and used book stores. CUTE!!!

Leave a Reply

