Wednesday’s Wonderful Recipes: Homemade Flour Tortillas

Good morning Dear Friends,

I pray you are encouraged by this recipe!!

Being from the south, tortillas are wonderful!! This is an easy recipe!!

I have substituted coconut oil for lard and whole wheat flour, gluten free flour and brown rice flower for the all purpose flour.

So you can still eat healthy and save money on an easy peasy recipe!! πŸ™‚

We LOVE our fresh farm eggs scrambled with homemade fat free refried pinto beans for breakfast on these homemade tortillas!!

YUM! πŸ™‚

Your family will think they were at a special Mexican Restaurant!! πŸ™‚

k xoxo

recipe image

Prep Time:Β 15 Minutes
Cook Time:Β 45 Minutes
Ready In:Β 1 Hour
Servings:Β 24
“This homemade flour tortilla recipe produces warm and soft tortillas perfect for soft tacos or burritos.”
INGREDIENTS:
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons lard
1 1/2 cups water

DIRECTIONS:

1.Β Whisk the flour, salt, and baking powder together in a mixing bowl. Mix in the lard with your fingers until the flour resembles cornmeal. Add the water and mix until the dough comes together; place on a lightly floured surface and knead a few minutes until smooth and elastic. Divide the dough into 24 equal pieces and roll each piece into a ball.

2.Β Preheat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Use a well-floured rolling pin to roll a dough ball into a thin, round tortilla. Place into the hot skillet, and cook until bubbly and golden; flip and continue cooking until golden on the other side. Place the cooked tortilla in a tortilla warmer; continue rolling and cooking the remaining dough.

(Recipe Credit: Allrecipes.com)

6 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Wonderful Recipes: Homemade Flour Tortillas

  1. sf says:

    Tastes good and comes out good even with gluten free flour? All right! I’m a terrible cook (and don’t even mention baking!), but I’m gonna put this on my future cooking list recipes. Will share this recipe and post on my blog!

    • k at Healthy Living 4 Him says:

      Well in the world of GF there are many concessions you are forced to make. πŸ™‚ But tortillas with gf flour can be changed to meet you family’s likes. πŸ™‚ I LOVE coconut flour and almond flour (Almond meal in some stores). Just find what your family likes best and keep it as simple as you can. πŸ™‚ Then you will keep it up!! And there is nothing like fresh hot tortillas!! πŸ™‚
      Please let me know how all turns out!! πŸ™‚
      k

  2. sf says:

    Reblogged this on untitled press and commented:
    Although I’m a terrible cook and have never tried baking from scratch before, I think I’m becoming a little more brave with attempting recipes after having made successful “Just Add Water” pancakes 3 times now. Yeah! As I put this tortilla recipe on my recipe list, I wanted to reblog and share it with y’all cuz according to HealthyLiving4Him, it’s not only easy and delicious to make, but also very inexpensive too! And I love that gluten free flour can be substituted for the all purpose flour.

    • k at Healthy Living 4 Him says:

      Hello!! Thank you so much for your reblogging. I also thank you for stopping by. πŸ™‚ Hang in there…I keep it as simple as possible. I am not a great cook…but I do have a family that are becoming foodies….healthy foodies!! πŸ™‚ So I am working over my diet and my families as a result. I will continue to post as I find new yummy, healthy and easy peasy recipe. πŸ™‚ Have a great week and stop back by when you have time. I am enjoying your blog too!!
      k

Leave a Reply

