Tuesday’s Tips…Busy, Busy, Busy…

praying woman

Hello Dear Friends,

I am writing a quick note(ok stop laughing..those who know me too well, I can be long winded ūüėČ ) to let you know you have been prayed for today. He loves you so!! And if you haven’t had time, stop and take a moment to chat with the Lord. He is always there, waiting for sweet fellowship with each of His children. ūüôā ¬†I am also led to share with you God’s lovely teaching…again, in my life.

Lately, again the Lord has been laying on my heart that I need to slow down and do things well. This is an ongoing issue in our fast paced “instant” lives in the world today.

Honestly…what are my priorities? Am I doing all as if unto the Lord?

Colossians 3:23-24

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

23 Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.

Many, many years ago the Lord gave me a wonderful book/Bible study to read by Linda Dillow. It is called Creative Counterparts. It is a book written by a lovely woman who wrote it for wives/Moms. It points out the Lord’s priorities for our lives. It so impacted me that my ladies Bible study at the time asked me to lead in the study of the book for our group. Now…I was a young Mother/wife and felt there were incredible well studied women that I could not begin to do as they had in our group. But the women just kept encouraging and after prayer, I offered that we each would take a chapter and lead discussion of the study in the back of the book. The Lord was amazing and in our group you could see the Lord working on us setting “His priorities” in each of our lives. Of course there was some resistance (one dear woman who was extremely knowledgeable about scripture and had been the previous leader…she felt the book and scripture it pointed to was “out dated”)but I was amazed that most all the women began to see the truth in scripture. There is peace in knowing God’s will and priorities He sets for our lives!!:)

checked off to do lists on clipboard

I rarely recommend books…except the Bible. ūüôā I know how hectic my life can be and know if I am going to have a moment of reading time, I try to always think of God’s Word first.

Now as I work diligently to keep my sweet family “on track” by praying, prioritizing and writing in my planner a general outline that is leaving all to the Lord. I am trying to do my best to serve Him well…there is peace. One thing we learn in these moments of struggles that hopefully bring forth good fruit is what I call elimination of “twaddle” activities.

My definition of twaddle: things that are time eaters that are either fruitless time wasters, things that satisfy ourselves in the moment and not God, things that cause us to rush and miss the joy of the journey as God intended, what we think is the “right” thing to do or things that satisfy “man” or seem “logical” which we are not called to do.

OK, I do have strong opinions. As I age I see these are more convictions from the Lord. I am not as “outspoken” as I was when I was young. I am trying to be slow to speak as Scripture encourages us.

James 1:19

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

19 This you know, my beloved brethren. But everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger;

So when I am “hurried” I end up being quicker to anger or push, push, push everyone else in my family to “rush”. ¬†Who wants to be grumpy or pushy?!?! I sure do not. So I have to make choices…yes all this is a choice.¬†

We live in a very, very fast paced world. We need to be careful as even this tool of the computer can and will takeover our days so that we are not attending to the priority list the Lord would have for our days.

I am humbled now almost daily as I see these things I speak of today in my own life. And as I try to “slow us down”, I realize the world does not necessarily like this. I also realize we get to liking all the activity…adrenaline fueled activity. Sometimes we wear it like a badge…”look at all ‘I’ have done.” And to eliminate the “twaddle” in life we might not feel not as productive.¬†Because isn’t a well checked list of things completed so encouraging?

Not if it isn’t God’s priority list for our lives, that is man’s logic…not God’s. If the item on the list wasn’t by God’s design for us at that time and place…no. We do even need to be sensitive to His timing. Again we need to be in close fellowship with the Lord in order to hear His clear guidance in our lives…He wants this for each of us!! ūüôā

Another encouragement, if we remove something in our schedule that is eating large amounts of our time, we must fill it with God’s plan for our time. We do not want to eventually revert back to old habits and we also need to be careful what we “fill in with”. Seek His will, His timing and His priorities.

Now…how do we do this you may be asking? First pray and seek the Word. Read, memorize scripture and focus on the things above…not on the things of this earth. Col. 3:2 tells us. I am recently fasting a certain activity that eats up my time…”twaddle”. I am realizing I now have time to think more clearly. This was an innocent…background leisurely activity that was not producing any fruit and one could argue could lead to bad fruit if not careful. So as I am fasting, reading and praying…I am also filling some of this time with some excellent Godly teaching. I realize now, I could not have fully absorbed this teaching if I weren’t in a fast of this “twaddle” activity. WOW!! God is amazing and wants us to hear His will and His plan for our days.

Is it not true that He numbered our days? That He is our Creator? So doesn’t it reason that He would want to help us live and prioritize our days to His design?

As a servant of the Lord, wife and Mommy, I am better able to hear the Lord in ways to love and support my husband and children as well as hopefully serve the Lord better!!¬†So I encourage you today to look at your schedule and pray about who is “running” it. Ask the Lord to help you discover where you may serve and how. Ask the Lord to guide your footsteps in all your activities. And if you are feeling overwhelmed and too busy, ask the Lord for guidance in discovering your own “twaddle” time/activities. Then ask the Lord to help you take that leap of faith and trust Him to guide your steps…literally step by step in the planning of your day. More than you and I can even fathom…the Lord wants us to know and live in His will for our lives.

OK…just some things the Lord is showing me…yet again. Praise the Lord He is gracious, merciful, patient and willing to “train” my heart repeatedly. My prayer for each of you, my family and myself is that we will learn His wonderful lessons quickly and serve Him with all our hearts to the very best of our abilities!! PTL for His great love for each of us…and His great patience in my many repeated lessons to better live for Christ.

Philippians 1:21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.KJV

Thank you for hearing my heart today Dear Friends. I am praying for each of you and may we all serve with a Servant’s heart,

k

PS…Sorry, I was true to form…long winded!! ūüėČ Thank you for hanging with me till the end.

Leave a Reply

