Thoughts on “De-Stressing” …

praying woman

Hello Dear Friends,

Having grown up in a beach community, “just hanging” was a term for no muss, no fuss…just “chillin’ out”.

My family would have nothing to do with this mindset. Truly I was raised to believe this was a rather “lazy way” of life. So as an adult, I saw the need to be productive and serve.  And that service to me was truly by “working” for the Lord and those I love. Now that alone is a great goal. As a typical human being apt to do things in my own strength and agenda, if not careful this can and will lead to “stress”. OK, a real Mary/Martha dilemma.

Luke 10:38-42

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

38 Now as they were traveling along, He entered a village; and a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her home. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word. 40 But Martha was distracted with [a]all her preparations; and she came up to Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; 42 but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

It’s a choice?

I posted two articles on “de-stressing”. There were some great tips we can do in our physical surroundings. Then I awoke last night and realized I hadn’t really commented on the True De-Stressor….Jesus Christ as I had planned!!

(Too many distractions…some might say, destractions can be another stressor.)

As Christians, we should always seek the Father. We meditate on His Word. In one of the articles it suggested a more transcendental meditation…I removed that picture. 🙂 And left that meditation to hopefully encourage you to prayer and meditation on the Word, Jesus Christ.

I have really been super-de-duper stressed this Fall. We have had a tremendous amount of change in our home. I have taken on some additional responsibilities out of our home…that I am truly humbled and glad to serve in. As well as three other family members have had tremendous change and stressful circumstances too. (No matter how much we love the activity/ies, they can cause stress with just the busy-ness alone.)

So…amazingly these two articles landed in my inbox in the last couple of days. God uses intersting ways to “catch our attention”. 🙂 Yes there are things in our environment we can change to help lessen stress. Most importantly our walk with the Lord is and should always be our first priority. The immediate relationships in our life also need attention in order to help nurture them and not cause stress on them. And finally yes, we do need to get all in order as much as possible to create a productive and healthy environment. 🙂

John 14:6

King James Version (KJV)

6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Yes, He is the Way…the Truth… and the Life!! Nothing more and nothing less when we are dealing with stress and eventual prioritizing in our life!!

Jesus FIRST!! 🙂

OK…yes, some days it takes me longer than it should to get to that focus of seeking the Lord and His will. I can easily churn and boil over different issues in life. Who, what, where, why, when and how? Yes…essentially at least one of these are the questions I ask when am “stressed out”.

So….seek the Lord in all things with all our heart.

Jeremiah 29:13

King James Version (KJV)

13 And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

Then we need to give it to Him first for His will in our lives…

Matthew 6:33

Amplified Bible (AMP)

33 But seek (aim at and strive after) first of all His kingdom and His righteousness (His way of doing and being right), and then all these things taken together will be given you besides.

Then do whatever is required all as if unto the Lord…even it is to be still and listen. (Yes that can be tough!!) 

Colossians 3:23-24

English Standard Version (ESV)

23 Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.

Psalm 46:10

King James Version (KJV)

10 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.

After that…it is all His!! Accept His will and His plan. Do your best and praise Him in the good and the bad!! 🙂 Yes, I have to put a smiley face here…as it is sooooo hard to praise Him in the good and the bad.

1 Thessalonians 5:18

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

18 in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

There is great love and relationship with our Father if we can completely trust Him enough to do this. I am always amazed how much my love grows for the Lord in both of these situations if I truly give thanks to the Lord.

Jehovah Jireh…my Provider….So why am I “stressing”…He already has a will and a plan in place.

Simply stating the obvious…seek Him and obey.

The Lord is working so hard on this in my life right at this moment. I seem to have to learn this lesson over and over again. But honestly, when writing this blog…I can see Sweet Jesus teaching me His lessons…again. 🙂

May I humbly seek Him first, be still and listen, learn, obey, retain and act upon all the Lord is teaching me….and I pray the same for each one of you my Dear Friends…He loves you so…

Love in Christ Jesus,

k xoxo

PS-Yes it is a choice.

Proverbs 3:5-6

King James Version (KJV)

5 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

Bible references: Biblegateway.com

Picture credit: Pictures.com

Leave a Reply

