Tuesday’s Tips…Travel Storage Organization

Hello Dear Friends,

Last week I spent a little time organizing and “cleaning out” or travel cases, travel items/samples and travel storage bins. I thought I would share some ideas. πŸ™‚

My family and I have lots and lots of “travel items”…since we travel so much, more lately than ever before!! πŸ™‚ I decided to set up bins for us to grab prepacked or organized items. I LOVE samples for travel and keep all organized in these bins. I also have smaller bags, boxes, etc. to organize in the suit case. I also LOVE using bags within the suit case. After traveling abroad and the question of our suitcases being “looked through”. I really want my clothes and “unmentionables” to be kept the way I have packed them and not rifled through…so to speak. πŸ™‚ I LOVE the idea of packing cubes but I find the Ziplocks are see through. They are far more inexpensive and can be reused if need be. Also they are “cleanable”. πŸ™‚

20130911_180919.jpg

I LOVE using these large storage bins. I look for them on sale and then stock up for projects just like these!! πŸ˜‰

Storage Bin #1

Travel 1

20130911_180927.jpg

I LOVE these clear bags sold by my local needlepoint shop. I bought them on sale. They are unbelievably nice looking and they make me look so neat and organized when in use! πŸ˜‰ Β They are extremely strong and easy to see through. (Hint the darker the bag and its lining the harder it is to see in. OK…maybe it’s my age or maybe it’s just hard to see in. πŸ™‚Β I have literally packed these with my books, magazines…carry on’s. πŸ™‚ I have even packed these in my suitcases to organize and use once we are at our destination. They weigh next to nothing when flying.

They also pack down/store so nicely in these bins between uses. LOVE THAT!!! πŸ™‚

20130911_180949.jpg

In Travel 2 box I organize all the samples and freebies I receive. Honestly, we do not need to purchase shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. for years!! I save all not used in hotels. (When my children were young they thought these samples were just so special. My parents literally would save all and bring as an extra with their travel gifts for each child. After a while, we realized they LOVED the samples usually more than the travel gifts brought back to them!! πŸ˜‰ CUTE!!! )

I also send off and receive free samples. PTL for “free” little gifts!! I don’t know about you…but “free” makes all so much sweeter to use!! πŸ˜‰ I almost always save these for travel. I always take samples of laundry soap, hand soap and fun make up samples on trips. I am blessed to usually have what we need when traveling. πŸ™‚ I used to spend the first day of each trip…going to the store to save room Β and weight in our suitcases. I found I spent more and at times didn’t have our brands. I also decanter into travel size approved bottles our special products…face wash, special soaps for allergy ones, special hairsprays, perfumes, etc.

20130911_180908.jpg

The second box also holds more organizational bags and boxes. I LOVE the options for my family!! πŸ˜‰ I also look for these types of items and buy only on sale. Or they are freebies with purchase. I LOVE free bags with make up purchase from the better companies. And of course I buy those only with coupons at the outlet mall, Target or Walmart!! πŸ˜‰

Never get rid of those little bags…they are invaluable little organizers. I even use them for our school bags to organize supplies…pens, pencils, etc. And even my craft project bags…knitting, crocheting and especially needlework!! They are fantastic!!! πŸ˜‰

20130911_180900 (1)

Please note that I not only use florescent labels but I label the category of what is inside and the box number. So when I send my Sweet Son to bring out the boxes…he will know there are 3 travel boxes. I also label on the end and top of each box. πŸ™‚ (In case they are in a stack.:) )

In this box are all my prepacked bags. I keep one packed with all consumable toiletries….cotton balls, q tips and hair/face samples.

I also keep a small one with laundry soap, dish soap, stain remover, etc. samples.

And for storage sake, I pack one inside the other to fit all in the bins…oh, the ones that are not prepacked.

All is easy peasy bring up, deal to family members and GO! πŸ˜‰

Another quick tip…as all of these are usually wipe down able…:) I use a wipe and clean all after each trip. This is also when I restock before putting away. (Be sure all is completely dry before putting away.)

It only took me about an hour to set up and takes me now about 15 minutes to restock!! πŸ™‚ Initially….I sorted into bins, labeled and then my Sweet Son took all three to our storage area!

Voila!!

So any last minute trips we are prepared!!

LOVE IT!!! πŸ™‚

Hmmm, now to do this in all the areas of our home that are not quite this ready!! πŸ˜‰

Hi-ho, hi-ho…it’s off to work I go!! πŸ˜‰

I hope this encourages you in your home and travels too!

Have a wonderful day in the Lord,

k xoxo

Leave a Reply

