Tuesday’s Tips…Journaling

Hello Dear Friends,

I am posting two Tuesday’s Tips today. ๐Ÿ™‚ I pray this encourages you, as I am enjoying this old and new aspect in my journey with the Lord. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have recently been reminded of some very basic but very fundamental tools….no matter how long you have been walking with the Lord.

When I was a young girl in high school, I had a very, very dear friend who made me a small personal binder for my walk with the Lord. She lovingly set up dividers to focus on important aspects of the Christian life to record and honor the Lord. This was such a life impacting gift!!

Recently I have realized when life is difficult, I can let myself get bogged down at times. So I remembered this dear friend’s gift.

I have already kept some of these “divided” sections from my friend for a while. ย Here is a picture of my two little prayer books. I am sure I purchased these at Walmart and Target and most likely on sale or with a coupon. ๐Ÿ™‚ But they work beautifully!!ย ย I record my prayer request to the Lord. The pink one is my personal prayer request for my family/friends and my life.

The green one is where I list other prayer requests for all the dear ones that I may not have a close relationship with. Now…just to encourage you in the ways of the Lord, I have listed acquaintances and while praying for them, the Lord has drawn our hearts together in a closer friendship…so their prayers I will now list in my pink notebook. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Lord is amazing in His will and His design. ๐Ÿ™‚ I also pray for local, state, world issues here too.

I have kept these for a while. If you notice they are a bit smaller to fit in my purse or bag when out and about. I find it is better to record these instantly so I don’t forget. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I have sweet people I barely know the Lord lays on my heart to pray for. I have also been privileged for sweet saints in the Lord to ask me to pray for them specifically…though we may be new friends. What a blessing!!

And finally, the blessing of keeping these journals…I can go back and see what the Lord has done when listing the Lord’s answers to these prayers. I only write on one side of the page the prayer requests. Then I can go back to the left side and list answers from the Lord!!

What a mighty God we serve!! ๐Ÿ™‚

20130806_102350

My second “journal” is a Praise Journal. I recently decided to start another praise journal. Again back to my friend’s original section of that notebook, I decided this is a good way to start my day. (Though some write a praise journal before bed. I may try that at some point too!) I list all the things I am thankful to the Lord. I had a spare calendar that has a nice size daily space to write my praises. Praise the Lord for such a great tool!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I keep it by my chair where I work on my morning quiet time/Bible study, blog and eat my yogurt with coffee each morning. What a great way to start the day!! ๐Ÿ™‚

20130806_102056

Lastly, though I don’t use this daily…it is a journal I keep. I use this journal for my notes during church, conferences and retreats. I used to insert tabs inside the journal but now just keep it chronologically. ย I have many I have kept through the years.

In the early days I would keep some for each event. For instance, if I went to a retreat or to a conference I kept a separate journal. Recently in my office clean out, I was shocked at how wasteful this was!! My heart sank to see how half used these journals were. So now I have recently decided to keep a journal per the calendar…not events. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ok, with age hopefully comes wisdom…and also recognizing waste and needing more space in my office shelves is a good encouragement too!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I love this type of journal as they have a magnetic flap and a hardback. I have also used hardback spirals as well. But now, enjoy the magnetic to keep my weekly church bulletin tightly tucked into the pages safe until I get home so I can reference it during the week.

I also keep a separate similar style journal for my weekly Bible study. It just stays with my study to record notes and thoughts. Since it is also weekly, I easily fill this with each new year’s study. ๐Ÿ™‚

20130806_102004

Ok Dear Friends, just a few ideas of good use for journals…other than the typical “diary” or “journaling”. I also write to the Lord…instead of “Dear Diary”…it is a written letter or prayer to the Lord in my praise journals.

As a teacher, I have spent many years encouraging students to write. I find if the subject is broken down with a more clearly defined purpose, we get it done. It is not overwhelming to look at the “blank page” and more importantly it is a small thing to organize my thoughts and to focus on the Lord.

“Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth.”ย Col. 3:2 NASB

Dear Friends, I pray this encourages you to interact with the Lord in your daily walk. As one more encouragement…it is wonderful to go back and read these journals to see where you have been and what the Lord has done!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a wonderful day in the Lord,

k xoxo

PS-Please feel free to comment on what tools you use in your walk with the Lord!! I am always soooo blessed and learn so much by each of your emails and comments!!

THANK YOU!!!

2 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tips…Journaling

Leave a Reply

