Frugal Fridays: Car Issues…Blessings?

Hello Dear Friends,

With our family loving vintage cars…we all drive older used cars. PTL I have a lovely handy brilliant husband who is able to “diagnose” and twist a few wrenches!! I am ALWAYS amazed!! What a blessing!! πŸ™‚

As a result, we enjoy fun unique cars!! (Oh, and I LOVE this one in the picture…and it’s pink!!! πŸ˜‰ But sadly not ours. )

But as we drive older cars, we also have a bit more maintenance. And as of right now, we have two out of five in the shop! Now…honestly that is not too bad…it could ALWAYS be worse. πŸ™‚ But we are in the car shuffle these days. So we are…of course experiencing growing pains in coordinating and sharing. (See even us Moms with older kiddos still work on these great core values/character traits. πŸ™‚ In myself too! πŸ˜‰ )

We also are seeing my wonderful husband’s ability to find more affordable parts!! He is GREAT at this!!! Though he is insanely busy with work right now, he spends his evenings looking for better deals. And we save lots and lots by his efforts. He has been known to “pull parts” off old cars in salvage yards. And with one of our older cars right now…the one I drive, they cannot even order a “new” part. My sweet husband will have to more than likely pull one. PTL he can do this!! πŸ™‚

Bless his heart, he is coordinating 3 of the 5 cars’ repairs. He also works with a nice gentleman in our small town to do bigger or more detailed repairs at his car shop. He also allows my husband to find his own parts and they do the installation using their specialized equipment.

So what is my tip/question…can we save money with our own parts or supplies? YES!!

Another idea: I occasionally treat myself to a pedicure every now and then at our local nail shop owned by an incredible Christian couple…I take my own “tools” and polish!! I do this for other reasons…but the same principle applies.

One more idea: In one of our neighboring large cities, we have to take our own bags for purchases in stores…not only is it good for the environment…they give us a bag credit!! (OK…every penny counts!!)

Finally: Our family used to have a Sewing, Spinning and Weaving shop. On all alterations or custom sewing, I ALWAYS gave credit to our clients who had their own supplies. πŸ™‚

So this principle is making me think…how else can I work toward saving money for my family?

Please feel free to share any ways you save money for your family in the comments!! I thank you for the emails, notes and comments!!

You all are such wonderful blessings!! πŸ™‚

Have a great day in the Lord,

k xoxo

Picture credit: Pictures.com

Leave a Reply

