Gluten Free Info

checked off to do lists on clipboard

Hello Dear Friends,

Some really great information on gluten free diet.

Thanks to WildTree.com for their easy and yet very informative gluten information!! 🙂

Enjoy!!

k

Gluten Free Diet

Further information: The oat controversy and Oat sensitivity

gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat (includingkamut and spelt), barleyrye, malts and triticale. It is used as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent, often as “dextrin”. A gluten-free diet is the only medically accepted treatment forceliac disease,[1] the related condition dermatitis herpetiformis,[2] and wheat allergy.[1]

Additionally, a gluten-free diet may exclude oats. Medical practitioners are divided on whether oats are an allergen to celiac disease sufferers[3] or if they are cross-contaminated in milling facilities by other allergens.[4]

The term gluten-free is generally used to indicate a supposed harmless level of gluten rather than a complete absence.[5] The exact level at which gluten is harmless is uncertain and controversial. A recent systematic review tentatively concluded that consumption of less than 10 mg of gluten per day is unlikely to cause histological abnormalities, although it noted that few reliable studies had been done.[5] Regulation of the labelgluten-free varies widely by country. In the United States, the FDA issued regulations in 2007 limiting the use of “gluten-free” in food products to those with less than 20 ppm of gluten.[6][7] The current international Codex Alimentarius standard allows for 20 ppm of gluten in so-called “gluten-free” foods.[8]

Gluten-free food

Quinoa

Several grains and starch sources are considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet. The most frequently used are cornpotatoesrice, and tapioca (derived from cassava). Other grains and starch sources generally considered suitable for gluten-free diets include amarantharrowrootmilletmontinalupinquinoasorghum(jowar), taroteffchia seed, and yam. Various types of beansoybean, and nut flours are sometimes used in gluten-free products to add protein and dietary fiber. Almond flour is a low-carbohydrate alternative to flour, with a low glycemic index. In spite of its name, buckwheat is not related to wheat; pure buckwheat is considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet, although many commercial buckwheat products are actually mixtures of wheat and buckwheat flours, and thus not acceptable. Gram flour, derived from chickpeas, is also gluten-free (this is not the same as Graham flour made from wheat).

Chickpeas

Gluten is also used in foods in some unexpected ways, for example as a stabilizing agent or thickener in products like ice-cream and ketchup.[9][10]

People wishing to follow a completely gluten free diet must also take into consideration the ingredients of any over-the-counter or prescription medications and vitamins. Also, cosmetics such as lipstick, lip balms, and lip gloss may contain gluten and need to be investigated before use. Glues used on envelopes may also contain gluten.

Most products manufactured for Passover are gluten free. Exceptions are foods that list matzah as an ingredient, usually in the form of cake meal.[11]

Cross-contamination issues

Special care is necessary when checking product ingredient lists since gluten comes in many forms: vegetable proteins and starch, modified food starch (when derived from wheat instead of maize), malt flavoring, including maltodextrine, dextrine , unless specifically labeled as corn malt. Many ingredients contain wheat or barley derivatives. However, dextrose is gluten free since it is highly modified, no matter what the source.[12]

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s