Saturday Special Treat

20130608_081915-1

Hello Dear Friends,

I wanted to share our morning treat!! I usually eat Mediterranean yogurt with berries, banana and fiber buds/granola with coffee and/or tea.ย But on the weekend, I try to have one morning of yumminess!! ๐Ÿ™‚

My sweet husband LOVES donuts. I have made the bake ones…but just not the same. So if we are pretty healthy the rest of the week, I will occassionally splurge!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Today it was my absolute favorite…Angel Food Cake toasted with a small amount of Amish butter topped with bananas and blueberries(berries are in season…yea!!!!) YUUUUUMMMMMMMYYYYYY!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

When I was young my mother used to toast our angel food cake for breakfast. OK…yes, I said it…CAKE FOR BREAKFAST!!! ย :O

It was very hard to break the sugar cereal, donut, soda, sugary breakfast habit. The Lord is good and PTL for many years now, we do not do this. Angel Food cake is fairly low calorie and not fried. The butter I control (can do coconut oil too). Just toast cake with butter. Top with berries and bananas. They add to the sweet yumminess of this!! We all feel so decadent and our sweet tooth is satisfied. ๐Ÿ™‚

I would not do this every day…honestly maybe we have this 4 times a year. But even my sweet husband asked for seconds today. I did delay and once it all hit bottom he was satisfied and didn’t need another round. ๐Ÿ™‚ (Good trick…let your meal fill your tummy by delaying 10 minutes before you refill…also drink lots of water before, during and after your meal…this fills your tummy too! Sometimes we think we are hungry and really our bodies just need to be hydrated.)

I also LOVE having coffee for breakfast. I love a good organic plain coffee mixed with an organic mocha coffee topped off with Silk’s Dark Chocolate Almond Milk! It is silly good!!!

I will go back to my yogurt, berries and bran tomorrow. But today it was fun to splurge and lavish my sweet husband/family with something special!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I pray you and your family are having a blessed Saturday…bless those around you in the Lord :),

k

Leave a Reply

