Wednesday’s Wonderful Recipes: Spinach Ricotta Stuffed Pasta Shells

20130604_192657

Boiled, cooled clam shell pasta ready to load with stuffing! 🙂

20130604_192741

If in a pinch (and I am still waiting on all my Summer tomatoes to can/freeze my homemade spaghetti sauce) this is an excellent sauce. Especially if you are like me/us and LOVE basil!! 😉

20130604_192710

Voila!! Now time for the baking!!

Sorry I didn’t take an after picture as the You Tube shows the final product well!!

And we were so hungry, we let it stand for 10 minutes then we all dug in for dinner!! 😉 Yummy, yummy dinner!! 🙂

Dearest Friends,

I found this teaching You Tube recipe and made it for dinner last night. It was so yummy!! My family loved it…the non gluten free and casein free family members. I have also added some of what I changed. And I have also listed the You Tube link for the tutorial.

Enjoy!!! 🙂

FYI:

Boil large clam shell pasta, rinse and let cool. Stuff with stuffing mixture above.  Place stuffed shells in a  baking dish, sprayed with cooking spray and then 1/4 c. tomato spaghetti sauce in the bottom of pan.  Pour the rest of the jar of sauce on top of the stuffed shells as a topping. And then sprinkle with shredded mozzarella. Bake 35-40 minutes covered at 350 degrees. And then uncover and bake an additional 15 minutes.

We loved this dinner and are eating some of the leftovers for lunch. YUM!!! We will still have enough to freeze for another yummy meal!! 😉

I also added minced garlic, chopped onions, basil and chopped grape tomatoes(fresh from my garden). And I think next time, I will cut back a bit on the ricotta and add a little browned ground beef and/or chopped pecans. The cheese was lovely, we just like a bit more texture…hence the veggies I already added. 🙂

I hope this encourages you to try something new. Be sure to cook all recipes in a way that best fits your family!

We loved this so much, my youngest wants this for her wedding rehearsal dinner someday! WOW!!! 😉 I told you they loved it!!

Have a wonderful day in the Lord,

k

Spinach and Ricotta Shells

filling:
2 lbs spinach
22 oz ricotta
1 cup mozzarella
3/4 cup Parmesan
1 egg
salt
pepper
several teaspoons nutmeg
several teaspoons Italian seasoning

Topping:
26 oz tomato sauce
1 cup mozzarella

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Db4Vm1NB5Eo

Leave a Reply

