Wednesday’s Wonderful Recipes…

Hello Dear Friends,

Such yummy new things to try!!

Tonight, I am making a new version of an old favorite!! FUN! ;)

I LOVE this gal’s recipes and her focus on healthy, organizing your meals and affordable!! YEA!!

Thanks Erin!!! :)

I pray you find something yummy here for your family,

k xoxo

Chicken Fajita Quesdaillas1 Chicken Fajita Quesadillas

Now that we are back in the land of Tex-Mex, and really cheap Tex-Mex ingredients, I can’t get enough…we can’t get enough. I feel like I’m making Tex-Mex once or twice a week…because ingredients are so cheap, and everyone loves to chow down. Enchiladas, layered enchiladas, fajitas, quesadillas…and now chicken fajitas meet quesadillas. Whatever it may be, we love Tex-Mex.

Make your fajitas on the grill or in a skillet. Mix ‘em up with cheese and slap between some tortillas. Bake, grill or saute them…bam!

Your frugal dinner is ready! 

 

Also, don’t forget to cut your quesadillas with your pizza cutter!

Buen provecho! That means Bon Appetit, or enjoy your meal…in Spanish!

Chicken Fajita Quesadillas

Yield – 6 quesadillas

Preparation Time – 25 minutes

Cooking Time – 20 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts, thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbsp homemade taco seasoning (or fajita seasoning)
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 2 peppers, red, yellow or green, seeded and thinly sliced
  • About 2 cups cheese
  • 12 tortillas
  • Rice and beans, as side dishes
  • Garnish with salsa, sour cream, or fresh guacamole

Directions

  • Cook the chicken breasts with the seasoning, with the sliced onions and peppers. Cook until chicken is cooked through and peppers and onions are softened.
  • Lay out 6 tortillas on baking sheets, add a pinchful of cheese to each tortillas. Spoon the chicken fajita ingredients evenly over each of the tortillas. Add another pinchful of cheese over the chicken fajita mixture. Top with the other 6 tortillas.
  • Bake or grill the quesadillas. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes, flip and bake another 10 minutes. If grilling, grill over indirect heat for 8 to 10 minutes per side, or until tortilla begins to brown. Flip and grill the other side for a few more minutes.
  • Cut with pizza cutter into 4 or 6 slices each.
  • Prepare rice and beans or other side dish and garnish.
  • Serve Chicken Fajita Quesadillas with Rice and Beans.

 


Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

~~~~~~~~~~

Sweet Potato Zuchhini Frittata Sweet Potato Zucchini Frittata

Sweet Potato Zucchini Frittata

I like frittatas. My family likes frittatas. But for different reasons.

I like frittatas because they are the breakfast version of stone soup. And I like them because I’ve never tried one that I didn’t like. Pretty much any veggie and/or veggie combination works in a frittata, and this one proves that point. Spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, potatoes….all great additions to a frittata. But zucchini and sweet potato together in a frittata…you’re just gonna have to trust me.

My family loves frittatas because they taste good. And they have eggs in them (a fave ingredient among the little people). They also love the “brinner” concept too!

Another reason I love frittatas, they are so easy to make!

 

See above…layer of thinly sliced zucchini, layer of cooked & cubed sweet potato, layer of thinly sliced zucchini. Pour milk-egg mixture on top. Bake.

Serve with side of fresh fruit and a glass of cold milk!

Sweet Potato Zucchini Frittata

Adapted from Green Squash [1]

Yield – 4 servings

Preparation Time – 10 minutes

Cooking Time – 35-40 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 medium zucchini (about 1 1/4 lb total)
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, cooked and cubed
  • 8 eggs (I would use 6 eggs if using a pie plate)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 Tbsp minced onion
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper 

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350. Spray a quiche dish or 9″ glass pie plate with non stick cooking spray.
  • In a quiche dish or 9″ glass pie plate, add a layer of zucchini slices, then layer of cooked sweet potato cubes (I cooked mine in the microwave to save time), then another layer of zucchini slices. Season with a little salt and pepper.
  • In a mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, minced onion, minced garlic and salt and pepper. Pour over the veggies in the dish.
  • Bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes, or until the eggs in the middle have cooked through.
  • Serve Sweet Potato Zucchini Frittata with fresh fruit and a glass of milk…a great weeknight “brinner.”

 


Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

~~~~~~~~~~

Strawberry Spinach Quinoa Salad Strawberry Spinach Quinoa Salad

Strawberry Spinach Quinoa Salad

Hello lovely.

Yes, this is a lovely, lovely salad. It’s lovely because it combines a few of my favorite flavors (strawberry, spinach and almonds). It’s lovely because it tasted light, but the quinoa made the me feel full.  And it’s even lovelier because it is made of “ingredients I had on hand.” Otherwise known as “popular ingredients that most people have”…because I don’t buy too many crazy, off the wall or expensive ingredients…so chances are you have these ingredients too! And as you can see from the photo, I chopped up whole almonds…using what I have on hand. It would have been easier to use slivered or chopped almonds (or pecans!), but I didn’t have those, so we made do. I’m all about improvising, and making do with what I can find in the pantry!

Variation: If I’d had poppyseed dressing on hand, I would have used that…but I used a sweeter red wine vinaigrette that I found in the fridge. A balsamic vinaigrette would be lovely too. Use what you’ve got!

My favorite salad that I eat for lunch several times a week is topped with diced mango, diced avocado and a tangy vinaigrette. So that combo is next on my list for a quinoa summer salad! Nom-nom!

(Price breakdown: 1 lb. strawberry boxes for $1.98 this week! More info on quinoa prices here [1]. Baby spinach pulled from the big box of spring mix I buy every week.)

Strawberry Spinach Quinoa Salad

Inspired by Strawberry Spinach Salad with Poppyseed Dressing [2]

Yield – 2 main dish servings, 4 to 6 side dish servings

Preparation Time – 10 minutes to mix together

Cooking Time – 15 minutes for quinoa, 2 hours to chill

Ingredients

  • 2 cups white quinoa ($1.50)
  • 6 large strawberries, hulled and chopped ($1.50)
  • 2 handfuls fresh baby spinach, chopped ($.50)
  • About 1/4 to 1/3 cup chopped or slivered almonds ($1)
  • Dressing drizzles – balsamic, poppyseed, or other sweet vinaigrette ($.25) 

Directions

  • Cook the quinoa according to package directions. Cool for at least 2 hours in the fridge.
  • When ready to serve, mix together the chilled quinoa, strawberries, chopped spinach and almonds. Drizzle the dressing over the top.
  • Serve chilled as main dish, or side dish. Perfect for lunch too!

Cost $4.75

 


Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

~~~~~~~~~~

iced caramel coffee punch copy Iced Caramel Coffee Punch

Oh my good-ness….this looks sooooo yummy!!! k :)

Iced Caramel Coffee Punch

This is a repost of one of my favorite drinks ever.

So a couple weeks ago I was at a Pampered Chef party and my friend Stephany served an “iced coffee punch.” I’m not much of a coffee drinker. I generally only drink it when I need to clear the fog after a rough night’s sleep, which is only about once a month these days. But when I do have to give into the caffeine and coffee, it has to be heavily flavored. I really, really, really don’t like the taste of coffee at all. But I can do heavily “syrup-ized.”

Stephany was rattling off the ingredients she used in her punch and I knew right away that I was going to enjoy this because the coffee flavor was masked enough to please my taste buds. I had a cup. Then another. Then I didn’t sleep that night.

And I made it last night for the first time, using Stephany’s recipe…modifying slightly because I didn’t have any evaporated milk. I will share both versions…you can decide.

Also, you could use extra vanilla or peppermint extract, or peppermint ice cream. Or chocolate syrup. Or whatever your favorite flavor is. Or whatever kind of “syrup” you have on hand.

From what I heard from the ladies who sipped on this coffee punch, it’s like a very creamy version of a Caramel Macchiato. YUM. YUM. YUM.

Iced Caramel Coffee Punch

Adapted from Stephany’s made up recipe

Yield – 6 servings

Preparation Time – 10 minutes

Cooking Time – 0 minutes

Ingredients

  • 4 cups brewed coffee
  • 1/2 can sweetened condensed milk or 1 full can of evaporated milk (you could save the other half and use it in some fudge for holiday gifts.)
  • 3-4 Tbsp Smucker’s caramel syrup (or other flavored syrup)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (or peppermint)
  • Couple small scoops of ice cream
  • Caramel drizzles on top

Directions

  • Brew or mix the coffee. Stir in the sweetened condensed milk (or evaporated milk). Place in the refrigerator until chilled. (Erin’s make it fast method: I used 4 packets of instant decaf granules…poured all 4 into 1 coffee mug, filled with hot water, stirred. Then added 3 cups COLD water. Then put in the fridge. Because I was running out of time.)
  • Once chilled, stir int he caramel syrup and vanilla extract. Then add small scoops of ice cream and let sit.
  • Serve into mugs or glasses and top with caramel drizzle. Enjoy!

 


Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

~~~~~~~~~~

7 Layer Tostadas Seven Layer Tostadas

This is one of those “it just came together” meals…

A few weeks back, we took the kids downtown during Fiesta week to go to the River Parade. They were serving some delicious tex-mex options in the section where our seats were located. They had fajitas, as well as bean and cheese tostadas. The kids had never had a tostada before, as I rarely made them in Ohio because the tostadas were quite expensive. Now that we are here in south Texas, there are tostadas practically on every corner, and they are cheap.cheap.cheap.

(Did I mention they were cheap?)

So I’ve added them to the “regulars” section of my grocery list. My grocery list consists of “regulars,” or items that I buy every week, along with deep discount and sale items like produce and BOGO offers, and lastly the “stockpile” section for products that I can get free or nearly free by matching sales with coupons or other store offers.

Two of the 3 older boys love refried beans on the tostadas…just like that. The other turns his nose up at beans, so he likes the other toppings. And while I rarely “short-order cook,” this meal is great…as the kids got to pick what they wanted on top!

We recently had Mexican Haystacks, and this is super similar…just seven layers, on top of a tostada. My tostada is pictured above…

  • Refried beans
  • Shredded chicken
  • Homemade Guacamole
  • Chopped orange pepper
  • Black Beans
  • Salsa
  • Shredded cheese

Other topping ideas include: sour cream, black olives, shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, red beans, avocado chunks.

This meal really just came together…I had all the right fixings and ingredients in the pantry to make a well, rounded and delicious dinner that we all enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

